The Miracle Method: A Radically New Approach to Problem Drinking

#ad
W. W. Norton & Company #ad - Highly practical, the Miracle Method is a radically new and effective approach to problem drinking. Your spouse complains about your drinking. You know you have a problem. Your boss suggests Alcoholics Anonymous. Neither the humiliation of "hitting bottom" nor a lifetime commitment to AA is necessary to make this approach work.

You need a solution; you need a miracle. What is the first thing tomorrow morning that will let you know that there has been a miracle and that your problem is solved? From that "first thing, concrete, " the authors help readers to imagine a future where drinking is not a problem and to specify small, obtainable goals that will make that future a reality.

The Miracle Method: A Radically New Approach to Problem Drinking #ad - Instead the individual learns to recognize exceptions times when drinking is not a problem, catch himself "doing things right, " handle setbacks, and revise the "miracle picture" when things arent working. A new approach to problem drinking that focuses not on the past or the present but on the future.

The authors ask readers to imagine such a miracle: Suppose that while you are asleep tonight a miracle happens and your problem is solved, just like that! Because you were sleeping, you didnt know that this miracle occurred.

#ad



Witness to the Fire: Creativity and the Veil of Addiction

#ad
Shambhala #ad - In witness to the Fire, Linda Schierse Leonard, Ph. D. Explores the dark and fiery journey of transformation from the bondage of addiction to the freedom of recovery through creativity. A jungian analyst, eugene o'neill, and jack london, leonard studies the relationship of creativity and addiction in the lives of writers such as Fyodor Dostoevsky, Jean Rhys, as well as the experiences of ordinary men and women.

Leonard holds out the hope that anyone bound by addiction can reclaim the power that fuels dependency for a life of joy and creativity.

#ad



The Thirst for Wholeness: Attachment, Addiction, and the Spiritual Path

#ad
HarperOne #ad - A rich and powerful pathway to a fully human spiritual life… Excellent… please read it. John bradshawcarl gustav jung described the addict's craving as a 'thirst for wholeness. Christina Grof, a pioneer in the transpersonal p.

#ad



Many Roads One Journey: Moving Beyond the 12 Steps

#ad
Harper Perennial #ad - From the author of women, beliefs, adapting them to their own experiences, a timely and controversial second look at 12-Step programs, helping all readers to draw on the steps' underlying wisdom, Sex, and Addiction, and sources of strength.

#ad



Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs

#ad
PublicAffairs #ad - Ultimately, deception, though, his journey took him where it takes most addicts: into a life of desperation, and crime. But unlike most addicts, Lewis recovered to become a developmental psychologist and researcher in neuroscience. PublicAffairs. In berkeley, california, in its hippie heyday, he found methamphetamine and LSD and heroin; he sniffed nitrous oxide in Malaysia; and frequented Calcutta's opium dens.

A neuroscientist's unique and fascinating journey into his own addiction--for readers of Oliver Sacks and Andrew SolomonMarc Lewis's relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, alcohol, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, and marijuana.

Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs #ad - In memoirs of an addicted brain, he applies his professional expertise to a study of his former self, using the story of his own journey through addiction to tell the universal story of addictions of every kind.

#ad



Lit: A Memoir P.S.

#ad
Harper Perennial #ad - Written with karr's relentless honesty, and irreverent, unflinching self-scrutiny, lacerating humor, it is a truly electrifying story of how to grow up--as only Mary Karr can tell it. PublicAffairs. Now lit follows the self-professed blackbelt sinner's descent into the inferno of alcoholism and madness--and to her astonishing resurrection.

The liars' club brought to vivid, indelible life Mary Karr's hardscrabble Texas childhood. She drinks herself into the same numbness that nearly devoured her charismatic but troubled mother, reaching the brink of suicide. Harper Perennial. Cherry, her account of her adolescence, 'continued to set the literary standard for making the personal universal' Entertainment Weekly.

Lit: A Memoir P.S. #ad - A hair-raising stint in 'the mental marriott, ' with an oddball tribe of gurus and saviors, awakens her to the possibility of joy and leads her to an unlikely faith. Lit is about getting drunk and getting sober, becoming a mother by letting go of a mother, learning to write by learning to live. But she can't outrun her apocalyptic past.

Karr's longing for a solid family seems secure when her marriage to a handsome, Shakespeare-quoting blueblood poet produces a son they adore. Not since saint augustine cried, 'Give me chastity, Lord-but not yet!' has a conversion story rung with such dark hilarity.

#ad



Crazy Like Us: The Globalization of the American Psyche

#ad
Free Press #ad - Free Press. PublicAffairs. In teaching the rest of the world to think like us, we have been homogenizing the way the world goes mad. The most devastating consequence of the spread of American culture across the globe has not been our golden arches or our bomb craters, but our bulldozing of the human psyche itself.

American-style depression, and anorexia have begun to spread around the world like contagions, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the virus is us. Traveling from hong kong to sri lanka to zanzibar to Japan, acclaimed journalist Ethan Watters witnesses firsthand how Western healers often steamroll indigenous expressions of mental health and madness and replace them with our own.

Crazy Like Us: The Globalization of the American Psyche #ad - Harper Perennial.

#ad



In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts: Close Encounters with Addiction

#ad
North Atlantic Books #ad - North Atlantic Books. Harper Perennial. Dr. Maté presents addiction not as a discrete phenomenon confined to an unfortunate or weak-willed few, but as a continuum that runs throughout and perhaps underpins our society; not a medical "condition" distinct from the lives it affects, emotional, and neurological development, rather the result of a complex interplay among personal history, brain chemistry, and the drugs and behaviors of addiction.

Based on gabor maté’s two decades of experience as a medical doctor and his groundbreaking work with the severely addicted on Vancouver’s skid row, In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts radically reenvisions this much misunderstood field by taking a holistic approach. The mix of personal stories—including the author’s candid discussion of his own "high-status" addictive tendencies—and science with positive solutions makes the book equally useful for lay readers and professionals.

In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts: Close Encounters with Addiction #ad - Simplifying a wide array of brain and addiction research findings from around the globe, the book avoids glib self-help remedies, instead promoting a thorough and compassionate self-understanding as the first key to healing and wellness. In the realm of hungry ghosts argues persuasively against contemporary health, social, and criminal justice policies toward addiction and those impacted by it.

Free Press. PublicAffairs.

#ad



Nurturing Resilience: Helping Clients Move Forward from Developmental Trauma--An Integrative Somatic Approach

#ad
North Atlantic Books #ad - It includes the survey used in the groundbreaking ACE Study, which discovered a clear connection between early childhood trauma and chronic health problems. PublicAffairs. Free Press. Experts in the physiology of trauma, the authors present an introduction to their innovative somatic approach that has evolved to help thousands improve their lives.

Kain and Stephen J. North Atlantic Books. For therapists working with both adults and children and anyone dealing with symptoms that typically arise from early childhood trauma--anxiety, migraine, depression, sleep problems, behavioral issues, metabolic disorders, and more--this book offers fresh hope. Harper Perennial.

Nurturing Resilience: Helping Clients Move Forward from Developmental Trauma--An Integrative Somatic Approach #ad - Synthesizing across disciplines--attachment, Child Development Theory, Neuroscience, Trauma, Polyvagal, and Somatics--this book provides a new lens through which to understand safety and regulation. Terrell draw on fifty years of their combined clinical and teaching experience to provide this clear road map for understanding the complexities of early trauma and its related symptoms.

A practical, integrated approach for therapists working with people both adults and children who have been impacted by developmental trauma and attachment difficultiesKathy L.

#ad



Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness

#ad
Vintage #ad - Free Press. North Atlantic Books. Styron is perhaps the first writer to convey the full terror of depression's psychic landscape, as well as the illuminating path to recovery. Great product! A work of great personal courage and a literary tour de force, this bestseller is Styron's true account of his descent into a crippling and almost suicidal depression.

PublicAffairs. Harper Perennial.

#ad



The Body Remembers Casebook: Unifying Methods and Models in the Treatment of Trauma and PTSD Norton Professional Books Paperback

#ad
W. W. Norton & Company #ad - Based on ideas put forward in the bestselling The Body Remembers, Babette Rothschild emphasizes the importance of tailoring every trauma therapy to the particular needs of each individual client. This is the first book of its kind to advocate utilizing and combining an assortment of trauma treatment models.

Read on its own on or in conjunction with The Body Remembers, clinicians from all disciplines will discover new strategies and gain insight into how to combine various treatment models for increased success with traumatized clients. Free Press. North Atlantic Books. Great product! PublicAffairs. Harper Perennial.

The Body Remembers Casebook: Unifying Methods and Models in the Treatment of Trauma and PTSD Norton Professional Books Paperback #ad - W w norton Company. A breath of fresh air in the competitive 'mine is best' atmosphere currently so divisive in the field of trauma therapy, each varied and complex case presented in a variety of writing styles: case reports, session-by-session narratives, single session transcripts is approached with a combination of methods ranging from traditional psychodynamic and cognitive approaches and applications of attachment theory to innovative trauma methods including EMDR and Levine's SIBAM model.

#ad